News Trending Viral Worldwide

R.E.M. Is Celebrating 25 Years Of ‘New Adventures In Hi-Fi’ With An Expansive Deluxe Edition

Michael Stipe made it pretty clear last month that R.E.M. will, in his words, “never reunite.” The good news, though, is that we still have decades of music from the band to enjoy. One of their defining releases, 1996’s New Adventures In Hi-Fi, recently celebrated its 25th anniversary. To mark the occasion, the band is releasing an expansive new deluxe edition of the album that comes with a ton of goodies.

Set to drop on October 29 via Craft Recordings, the deluxe edition comes with two CDs and 1 Blu-ray disc. Across them is the newly remastered album, B-sides, rarities, “a never-before-released 64-minute outdoor projection film (shown on buildings across five cities in 1996 to promote the album’s original release),” and a previously unreleased 30-minute EPK. On top of that, there’s a surround sound edition of the album, restored music videos, a 52-page hardcover book, and written reflections from R.E.M. members, Thom Yorke, Patti Smith, and others.

The band is also releasing a vinyl edition of the reissue, which just features the remastered original album.

Upon its initial release, New Adventures In Hi-Fi topped the charts around the world and achieved a peak at No. 2 in the US. It’s also the band’s most recently released Platinum-certified album. In the liner notes, R.E.M.’s Mike Mills says, “We wanted to make a record about being on the road without singing about being on the road. The idea was that the feeling of being on the road would come through in the sound and feel of the record itself.”

Check out the deluxe edition art and tracklist below.

Craft Recordings

Disc 1 — New Adventures In Hi-Fi
1. “How The West Was Won And Where It Got Us”
2. “The Wake-Up Bomb”
3. “New Test Leper”
4. “Undertow”
5. “E-Bow The Letter”
6. “Leave”
7. “Departure”
8. “Bittersweet Me”
9. “Be Mine”
10. “Binky The Doormat”
11. “Zither”
12. “So Fast, So Numb”
13. “Low Desert”
14. “Electrolite”

Disc 2 — B-sides And Rarities
1. “Tricycle (Instrumental)”
2. “Departure (Live Rome Soundcheck / Rome, Italy / 2/22/1995)”
3. “Wall Of Death”
4. “Undertow (Live / Atlanta, GA / 11/18/1995)”
5. “Wichita Lineman (Live / Houston, TX / 9/15/1995)”
6. “New Test Leper (Live Acoustic / Seattle, WA / 4/19/1996)”
7. “The Wake-Up Bomb (Live / Atlanta, GA / 10/4/1995)”
8. “Binky The Doormat (Live / Atlanta, GA / 11/18/1995)”
9. “King Of Comedy (808 State Remix)”
10. “Be Mine (Mike On Bus version)”
11. “Love Is All Around”
12. “Sponge”
13. “Leave (Alternate Version)”

Disc 3 (Blu-Ray)
1. R.E.M. Outdoor Projections – Saturday Sept 7, 1996 – 5 cities
2. New Adventures In Hi-Fi EPK – previously unreleased 30 min version
3. New Adventures In Hi-Fi 5.1 Audio
4. New Adventures In Hi-Fi – Hi-Resolution Audio
5. “E-Bow The Letter” (Music Video)
6. “Bittersweet Me” (Music Video)
7. “Electrolite” (Music Video)
8. “How The West Was Won And Where It Got Us” (Music Video)
9. “New Test Leper” (Music Video)

New Adventures In Hi-Fi (25th Anniversary Edition) is out 10/29 via Craft Recordings. Pre-order it here.

R.E.M. is a Warner Music artist. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.